Kinda Slow

Pour Some Sugar on Me by Def Leppard

The other night I needed to do some thinking, I have some big decisions looming in my life, and well my dorm wasn’t the place to do that. The ocean was, so I headed out on the night roads and just drove. I was going faster and faster, and soon enough the song from above started playing. I cranked that sh&t and went even faster.

I started thinking: “I should probably slow down, I have to turn soon and maybe there’s…..”

Lights.

Blue. Flashing. Lights.

The 5-0 were after me. I pressed down on the gas harder and sped past the turn I was going to take. Past the police station. Past the house where I fell down the stairs. I kept going, getting faster and faster. The lights that originally belonged to one cop car soon were joined by many cop cars.

The chase was lasting a long time, and soon I was near the ocean, where I was headed in the first place. It was soothing, but exhilarating at the same time. My car was carving all the turns on ocean boulevard (in Hampton NH) and soon I lost them.

Or so I thought.

I looked at my gas gauge and the light was on. Who knows for how long, but soon I felt the car start to shudder and I had to pull over. I got out of my car and didn’t know what to do.

***

To be continued…. my friend wants me to eat..

Also the Bruins were on.

****

The lights came around the corner and soon I saw the cars. I was about to be surrounded. I looked around at my surroundings, in front of me, four police cars, officers coming out, and the ocean. Can’t go that way. To my left, the road I came down. Maybe not.  The right, a steep hill and the road continued. Not feeling that. Behind me, a few trees and some mansions. Here goes nothin–

I quickly turned around and ran dodging each tree as they came. What started out as a clear view of each tree soon became a blur of brown and green and the flash of blue behind me faded away.

I was coming to a high fence but I couldn’t slow down, I leapt into the air and grabbed ahold of the wrungs. Pulled myself up and over and landed with a thud and felt that strange pain you feel in your heels if you’ve jumped from a height.

I spun around to see the cops slowing down near the fence. I looked at them in the eyes and then at the height of the fence.

Looked back at them and said, “Kinda slow?” Then I ran off.

****

Just kidding I got pulled over way before that happened.

-Lomonte

 

Leave a Reply

