Getting back at It

Song of the post: Take me Home, Country Roads by John Denver

So, after being jobless for a little while and getting shut down multiple times, I have decided to tell my parents that I am going to work everyday, but instead come to UNH and write this, write my book and try and self-teach. It’s not ideal but I have run out of options.

Anyhow, the point of this entry is not to bore you with the ins and outs of my joblessness. “They took our jobs.”

But rather to talk about what I love and that is sports. And my first love, the Red Sox are treading in first place in the AL East. They had a shortened series because of the weather, with the Rays and are 1/2 game up. The Rays pitching took it to the Sox and it showed how pitching dominates in this league.

Boston has a offense that keeps getting it done, but couldn’t quite against the superior Rays pitching.

Next on tap the Red Sox have to face the Orioles who just added a fantastic closer in Rodriguez. The Sox need a closer now, both of their “official closers” are done for the season. This will be one of the biggest series of the season. It could mean the difference between 3rd and first, outside looking in or looking back and laughing.

Huge series and this could define the season. The Orioles have given us trouble lately, I mean Buck Showalter has whipped them into shape. It doesn’t help us that we have HR pitchers and Chris Davis is a machine.

The Red Sox will undoubtedly make a deal or two at the deadline, to my dismay. One of which could involve young talent to get Jake Peavy. A mistake in my eyes. This year is a gift, nothing else sure you’d like to get a 6th pitcher in case Buchholz can’t fix his neck, but it’s not worth losing the farm. We have closers, just not healthy this year.

In my opinion just see where this leads and if we sputter out that is okay to me. Unless the Yankees beat us. But the core will be back next year and we will have Jackie Bradley Jr., Xander Boegarts, Will Middlebrooks, and more up to make Sox Nation proud again.

Don’t make a move.

Lager

Leave a Reply

